atlantanomad.blogg.se

Holland and holland rifle wallpaper
Holland and holland rifle wallpaperholland and holland rifle wallpaper
  1. #HOLLAND AND HOLLAND RIFLE WALLPAPER PLUS#
  2. #HOLLAND AND HOLLAND RIFLE WALLPAPER FREE#

The compact size of everything means getting from A to B is easy, so if you have a car or don’t mind using public transport, you can get to anywhere in the country within a couple of hours. I’ve never lived anywhere repressive (I lived in Gran Canaria for many years which is also very accepting) so I don’t have anywhere really different to compare things with, but I can imagine there are some places very different. You don’t have to hide your sexual preferences, religion or background here. You might see 2 men or 2 women walking down the street holding hands, and nobody is going to bat an eyelid. Most of the Dutch don’t discriminate against race, sexual preference or class, which is certainly refreshing. To ‘tolerate’ something means to ‘put up with’ something (albeit reluctantly) so I prefer to use the word ‘acceptance’. Acceptance and FreedomĪlthough the Dutch often use the word ‘tolerance’ I can’t stand that word. Not all the older people speak English and some of the lesser educated ones don’t, but I’d say 90% of Dutch speak at least conversational English, which certainly helps! My Dutch can still be described as ‘basic’ in that I can string a sentence together and understand most of a newspaper article, but I work from home and we’re planning to move to Texas in 3 months, so that is fine for me! 3. But if speaking Dutch isn’t your forte, you will be pleased to know the majority of Dutch people speak English, and very good English at that. You will pick up plenty as well, just by being here. If you are planning to live here permanently, or at least stay for a few years, you will want to familiarize yourself with Dutch, at least a few phrases and words. Now, things will be different if you live on the outskirts of a city or in a village, but the compact scale of the country means if you want to ditch the idea of a car and simply bike or walk, that is certainly possible here. Whether I’ve run out of milk or just fancy a snack, I can just walk down the street to the supermarket (as long as I get there before 8pm when they close!) I live in the middle of the city and can walk to the shops in 10 minutes and that includes walking to the doctor, dentist, hairdresser… pretty much everything is within walking distance, or biking distance if you like to ride a bike instead, and many Dutch do. The main supermarket chain here is Albert Heijn and I am less than a 10 minute walk away from 2 of them, which is really convenient. Whether you are thinking about visiting Holland, moving to Holland or just reading this because you’re bored or have insomnia, there’s no doubt Holland offers some pretty unique things. There are things here you won’t find in any other corner of the planet, things that make the Netherlands, or Holland, unique. The Netherlands is certainly a one-of-a-kind type of place. So, let’s begin with the good things! 6 Best Things about Holland Yes that’s French not Dutch, but never mind, you know what I mean…

#HOLLAND AND HOLLAND RIFLE WALLPAPER PLUS#

Plus they congratulate everyone who is in any way related to the birthday boy or girl (or man or woman) – different again! But hey, Vive La Difference.

holland and holland rifle wallpaper

The next party was the same and then I cottoned on that is how they celebrate birthdays here. Then some cake appears, then some ‘huiswijn’. Everyone sat in a big circle chatting about their jobs, houses and kids, drinking strong coffee. I thought the first birthday party I went to in Holland was rather unusual. Dutch Birthday Parties (aka Circle of Death) Honestly, I don’t miss the ‘siesta’ hours they had in Spain but it takes a bit of getting used to of course. I found it peculiar the shops don’t open until midday on a Monday. I found it strange the post office doesn’t deliver on a Monday. While that is normal to a Dutch renter it is bizarre to me. Nothing on the floor, nothing on the walls… you have to buy carpet, wallpaper, everything.

holland and holland rifle wallpaper

For example, when you rent an apartment here it comes with nothing at all – it’s just a cement box. When I moved here in 2010 a few things really surprised me as being very different from what I was used to.

holland and holland rifle wallpaper

#HOLLAND AND HOLLAND RIFLE WALLPAPER FREE#

Your opinions and thoughts about Holland might not be the same as mine, and feel free to leave feedback in the comments. I offer my thoughts on the things I love and the things that drive me crazy. Now before you message me, complaining that I don’t appreciate the country I live in or finding fault with where I choose to live, know this – this article is about the good AND the bad.

Holland and holland rifle wallpaper